loading...

OUR SCHOOL

 

 

Ko Mauao te Maunga

Ko Tauranga te Moana

Ko Mataatua me Takitimu ngā Waka

Ko Te Whare Wānanga o Te Maro te Wharenui

Ko Te Whare Ahuru te Wharekai

Ko Te Maro te Papakainga

Ko Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāi Te Rangi me Ngāti Pūkenga ngā Iwi

 

 

Tauranga Intermediate School

 

Vision
Our ultimate goal

Exploring personal potential.

 

Mission Statement
Our immediate goal

To model and nurture critical, creative, caring and collaborative thinking.

 

Motto
Our reason for being

Kimihia kia taea.
Explore and achieve.

 

At Tauranga Intermediate we are about identity, learning, fun, challenge and opportunity.

We are a passionate, hardworking team who are committed to the education of emerging adolescents.

We are proud of our vision statement - ‘Exploring Personal Potential’. To inspire this, we offer a wide range of academic, sporting and cultural opportunities for our students and to provide the support, challenge and encouragement as they explore these.

Our curriculum is localised, responsive to strengths as well as areas of need and challenges students to think. It includes assessment and reporting that informs students and families of current achievement.

We have exciting, comprehensive Sport and Outdoor Education programmes which facilitate the perfect environment for students to follow their interests or nurture particular talents.

History

The land that Tauranga Intermediate School sits on was originally vegetable gardens; planted and harvested by local iwi to feed their people.

Some of the crops grown were kumara and riwai (potatoes).

Te Maro is the original name of the land that our school is built on. The name Te Maro is the name of our Māori Unit and the name of our school marae.

To further tie in with and acknowledge this history our kapa haka groups have been named:

Whakatō (to plant a seed) - this is the whole school kapa haka group.

Hauhake ( to harvest) - this is the performance group which performs at the regional, national and other special events.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

pic2.jpgpic3.jpg

 

OUR TEAM

 

Senior Leadership

Mr Cameron Mitchell

Principal

cameronm@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mrs Tracey Kerr-Aim

Deputy Principal

traceyka@tauranga-int.school.nz

Whaea Cheri Gallagher

Deputy Principal

cherig@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mr Adam Roach

Deputy Principal

adamr@tauranga-int.school.nz

Matua Jack Te Moana

Kai Arataki ō Te Ao Māori

jackt@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mike Hansen

Assistant Principal

mikeh@tauranga-int.school.nz

Totara House - CWSA

Bissy Groom

Team Leader

Room 1

bissyg@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mrs Danielle Oliver

Room 2

danielleo@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mrs Kellie Hunter

Room 2

kellieh@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mrs Carolyn Richardson

Room 3

carolynr@tauranga-int.school.nz

Gareth Thomas

Room 4

garetht@tauranga-int.school.nz

Matai House - Bilingual Unit

Matua Edward Te Moana

Team Leader

Room 5

edwardt@tauranga-int.school.nz

Tahleisha Smith

Room 6

tahleishas@tauranga-int.school.nz

Matua Ruki Tipuna

Room 7

rukit@tauranga-int.school.nz

Whaea Nim Ngatai

Room 8

naomin@tauraga-int.school.nz

Te Waikohua Rata

Room 9

tewaikohuar@tauranga-int.school.nz

Marty Jepsen

Room 9

martyj@tauranga-int.school.nz

Matua Zane McGregor

Room 10

zanem@tauranga-int.school.nz

Aorewa Tapiata

Kaiawhina

Hinetapu Taikato

Kaiawhina

Manuka House

Georgia Manera

Room 11

georgiam@tauranga-int.school.nz

Matt Ward

Room 12

mattw@tauranga-int.school.nz

Jessica Russell

Room 13

jessicaru@tauranga-int.school.nz

Jonathan Bull

Team Leader

Room 14

jonathanb@tauranga-int.school.nz

Kahikatea House

Chloe Fowler

Room 15

chloef@tauranga-int.school.nz

Sue Webster

Room 16

susanw@tauranga-int.school.nz

Emma Ross

Room 17

emmar@tauranga-int.school.nz

Jonathan Pace

Team Leader

Room 18

jonathanp@tauranga-int.school.nz

Rata House

Nicole Smart

Room 19

nicoles@tauranga-int.school.nz

Simon Cade

Room 20

simonc@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mr Jacob Plummer

Team Leader

Room 21

jacobp@tauranga-int.school.nz

Whaea Jo Fredheim

Room 22

jof@tauranga-int.school.nz

Kauri House

Mrs Stacie Aldersley

Team Leader

Room 23

staciea@tauranga-int.school.nz

Charlotte Van Rooyen

Room 24

charlottev@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mrs Gillian Matthews

Room 25

gillianm@tauranga-int.school.nz

Nicola Hone

Room 26

nicolah@tauranga-int.school.nz

Tawa House

Mr Blair Tristram

Team Leader

Room 27

blairt@tauranga-int.school.nz

Anna Connolly

Room 28

annac@tauranga-int.school.nz

Miss Taylia Hill

Room 29

tayliah@tauranga-int.school.nz

Natascha Williams

Room 30

nataschaw@tauranga-int.school.nz

Miro House

Ms Linzi Littlewood

Team Leader

Room 31

linzil@tauranga-int.school.nz

Matt Ensor

Room 32

matte@tauranga-int.school.nz

Aeilidh Mikkelsen

Room 33

aeilidhm@tauranga-int.school.nz

Preet Kaur

Room 34

preetk@tauranga-int.school.nz

Tanekaha House

Ellie Richardson

Room 35

ellier@tauranga-int.school.nz

Miss Jenna Hatch

Team Leader

Room 36

jennah@tauranga-int.school.nz

Jacob Geenty

Room 37

jacobg@tauranga-int.school.nz

Whaea Lauren Stull

Room 38

laurens@tauranga-int.school.nz

Rimu House

Matua Tom Hardy

Team Leader

Room 39

tomh@tauranga-int.school.nz

Kayla Jones

Room 40

kaylac@tauranga-int.school.nz

Shaye Brown

Room 41

shayeb@tauranga-int.school.nz

Nigel Firman

Room 42

nigelf@tauranga-int.school.nz

Technology / The Arts Staff

Whaea Kathleen Gorst-Berkahn

Soft Materials

kathleeng@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mrs Linda Balme

Soft Materials

lindab@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mrs Susan Oakley

Food Technology

susano@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mr John Marsh

HOD Science - Science Specialist

johnm@tauranga-int.school.nz

Matua Andy Groom

Digital Technology

andyg@tauranga-int.school.nz

Whaea Liv Bazely

Performing Arts

livb@tauranga-int.school.nz

Toni MItchell

Visual Art

tonim@tauranga-int.school.nz

Paul Bennett

Hard Materials

paulb@tauranga-int.school.nz

Specialist Staff

Vicki Swann

Specialist Teacher

vickis@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mr Gerry Hart

HOD LEOTC

gerryh@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mr Reuben Potaka

HOD Sport

reubenp@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mrs Annemieke Hart

HOD International Languages

annemh@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mrs Chris Slater

Special Education Needs Coordinator

christenes@tauranga-int.school.nz

Donna Pengelly

Maths Support Teacher

donnap@tauranga-int.school.nz

Michael Chemis

Health Teacher

michaelc@tauranga-int.school.nz

Dylan King

Librarian

dylank@tauranga-int.school.nz

Support Staff

Mrs Karen Hampton

Sports Co-ordinator

karenh@tauranga-int.school.nz

Miss Makayla Daysh

Sports Assistant

makaylad@tauranga-int.school.nz

Cornelius Houkamau

Performing Arts Assistant

Mrs Cheryl Baldwin

Learning Through Literacy

cherylb@tauranga-int.school.nz

Mrs Claudia Shepherd

Office Manager

Lillian Cassidy

Admin - Reception

Mrs Karen Mackintosh

Admin - Student Files

Mrs Melony Armstrong

Admin - Personnel

Lester Li

Systems Specialist

Babette Vosse

Counsellor

Paul Horler

Youth Mentor / Attendance

Marg Holland

Nurse

Sandie Wiese

Attendance

Leigh Hawes

Youth Mentor

Fletcher Carpenter

Youth Mentor

Lyn Aitken

Youth Mentor

Mike Donovan

Head Caretaker

Mike Townsend

Caretaker

Lynda Olson

Camp Assistant

Wayne Smith

Camp Assistant

Maureen Roddick

Youth Mentor

Teaching Assistants

Mrs April Taylor

Technology Assistant

Kirstin Johnson-Coombs

Teacher Aide

Moana Lambert

Teacher Aide

Debra Morgan

Teacher Aide

Lorna Pearson

Science Technician / Fast Track Reading

Gemma Thomas

Teacher Aide

Kat Berntsson

Teacher Aide

Rikee Reynolds

Teacher Aide

Aneri van der Berg

Teacher Aide

Bex Smith

Teacher Aide

Idelette van Pareen

Teacher Aide

Cindy Higgins

Teacher Aide

Connor Higgins

Annita Murray

Teacher Aide

Board of Trustees

Tauranga Intermediate School is strongly supported by the governance of its Board of Trustees. The Board comprises parent representatives with a mix of skills, as well as a staff representative and the school principal.

The Board is committed to ensuring students at Tauranga Intermediate have the best learning opportunities during their time at the school. Enhancing student achievement is the Board’s focus, for trustees to work for positive outcomes for all concerned.

 

View Current BOT

frontage.jpg

TIS STARS VALUES

  

At Tauranga Intermediate School our STARS represent our values and are intrinsic to all that we do.

We celebrate these values on a daily basis and expect all students to follow the STARS during their time at Tauranga Intermediate School.

TIS STARS D8-01.svg

OUR HOUSES

Tauranga Intermediate is made up of 10 ‘Houses’ named after trees native to Aotearoa. These Houses help give the students a sense of team and belonging within the wider school community.

Each House is made up of 4 - 6 teachers (one is the House Leader) and the classes are clustered together physically. The teachers and House Leader work together on the academic progress and pastoral care of their students.

The Houses act as mini schools and our students learn in them, compete in them, attend hui in them and experience school life as part of this team.

The Houses compete against each other in a variety of competitions for the prized Spirit Trophy. These competitions vary from Cross Country to Hip Hop to Haka to Dodgeball and Battle of the Bands. A chance for all students to get involved in different activities and show their House Spirit in a fun, supportive atmosphere.

 

 

houses.svg

 

 

pic4.jpg

PCL4

PC4L

View more

PC4L - Positive Culture for Learning

We are passionate about fostering a Positive Culture for Learning at TIS. This helps teachers, whānau and our school community improve children's well-being, address problem behaviour and increase achievement.

By strengthening relationships and creating more positive home and school connections, we remove barriers to engagement and improve students' chances to achieve at school and beyond.

PC4L is a long-term, systematic approach that has helped us identify what is important to our school community, how we can create positive learning environments and support positive and respectful relationships.

Student Wellbeing

Teen Tools

Honours Badges

HONOURS BADGES

View more

Honours Badges

At Tauranga Intermediate we acknowledge students who engage and achieve in a variety of aspects of school life; academic, cultural, sporting and citizenship.

Our Honours Badge system is about recognising the successes of a well rounded student as they contribute to and enhance the culture of Tauranga Intermediate.

The initial step is to earn the Honours Badge itself. This can be achieved from a wide range of opportunities across general school life; from being in a sports team, donating school lunches, participating in a school arts event to 100% attendance.

After the Honours Badges the Academic, Sports, Cultural and Citizenship Bars are the next step for those students who achieve at a level higher than participation.

The Elite Bar is for students who are awarded three of the four bars and the Sports Elite is for National or International representatives.

restorative.svg

RESTORATIVE PRACTICE

Read more

Restorative Practice

At TIS we work with students using a restorative practice model based on the beliefs of equality, dignity, mana and the potential of all people.

We focus on building positive, respectful relationships across our school community and, if issues arise, our process enables us to manage them and restore these relationships.

Students will be introduced to many skills that will enable them to negotiate, mediate, reflect and to restore relationships. They will be involved in mini-chats, circle times, class and maybe community conferences.

Everyone has a right to come to school and to be safe. It is through understanding relationships and taking responsibility for their actions that learning opportunities are enhanced and your student’s safety and the safety of others is ensured.

Our focus on PC4L and Restorative Practice helps to create:

  • A calmer school environment
  • An increase of engagement and learning
  • Growth in relational and problem solving skills
  • Improvements in attitudes and relationships
  • Consistency and shared values.

gallery1.jpg

gallery2.jpg

DIGITAL TECHNOLOGY

Tauranga Intermediate is an Apple Distinguished School. We have 1 -1 devices in all classrooms.

“Apple Distinguished School leaders, staff members and extended communities have a clear vision for how their technology-rich environments support learning goals. School leaders have established elements for continuous innovation that include culture, team, capacity, community, finance and measurement. Supporting their school’s vision is an ongoing process that requires thoughtful planning, practice and improvement along the way. They use iPad and Mac products to inspire student creativity, collaboration and critical thinking. And they cultivate environments in which students are excited and curious about learning.”

 

Apple_logo_grey.svg          Buttons_E-Learning.svg

digital_tech.jpg

 

 

OPPORTUNITIES

 

 

 

 

OUTDOOR EDUCATION

 

 

 

 

INTERNATIONAL

 

 

pic5.jpg